Wood Lot Management

Started by r8ingbull, December 13, 2008, 01:28:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

r8ingbull

I'm looking for any resources/info available to learn about woodlot management.  My house is on a 2 acre lot, I would like to remove the yard portion and use more of the property as woods.  Right now it is about 1/3 woods, 2/3 mowed grass.

I also have another lot on the other side of town (2.5 acres) that is wooded, I would like information about how to keep it productive for firewood.  What types of trees to keep, what to cut, etc...

This is my first time using wood for heat.  It looks like 2 cords is more than enough to heat the house.

Located in Michigan (west side, near Grand Rapids)

From other post on this board, folks are saying that 2-3 acres of woods should yield a good amount in dead fall, but I am not seeing that right now.  I'm wondering if these need to be maintained better to increase yield.  One spot has three HUGE oaks, covering about 1/2 acre and nothing will grow up in that area, I'm wondering if it's worth dropping them to get new growth... 

MountainDon

Around here good information is available from the forest service, but that may be because our property is surrounded by national forest.

We have primarily Ponderosa Pines, some fir and spruce, a handful of Aspen and other non evergreens. You mentioned oaks, I don't know if there are any differences how evergreens and deciduous tress would be treated. One thing I am certain of the first thing in managing your trees is to thin them, if they are like in most places that have not been managed up to now. We got enough firewood from that operation to last a few years. And that was with hauling an even greater amount of fallen dead, partly rotted trees off to the burn pit.

You should contact your state department of natural resources. Here's a page from Michigan State University.

http://forestry.msu.edu/extension/ExtDocs/wmywl.html