26x16 Garden cabin advice

Started by Bretttf, April 04, 2011, 03:40:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bretttf

Hi guys. I'm new on here after lurking & researching & admiring for a while. I'm English living in England & I love the American log cabins. Apologies now as I suspect there will be questions!
I'm a maintenance engineer so I'm handy but Im struggling to progress & make decisions due my perfectionist nature!
Anyway, an opportunity has arose for me to build a flat, sloping roof front to back cabin/fun room for me & my 3 sons.
A friend of mine has kindly given me enough 4x3 to complete all the framing.
Another friend of mine has offered my endless supply of 4x1 in approx. 36" lengths.
Would the 4x1 be ok to sheath my frame inside and out? Floor and ceiling aswell?
I had thought about water proofing it all prior to fitting with and engine oil & parafin mix.
I plan to house wrap/tyvek the exterior over the sheathing. include floor & roof before felt?
I have a problem here that I'd also like help with. The 2 sides & back will have very limited access once in place. What would be a virtually maintenance free weatherproof coating/material.
I plan to use 6x2 for floor and ceiling joists.
From the interior going out I plan to have interior ply (again free 36"x36" x3/4" sheets) then plastic sheet vapour barrier, fibre glass insulation, the 4x1 strips, house wrap then loglap on the front and whateverbis suggested for the 2 sides & the back.

rocking23nf

2x6 joists are really tiny for floor joists, I would go 2x8 or 2x10.

And I would rethink using 4x1 for sheathing, thats alot of work. 4x8 sheets go on easy, and are made for 16' on center framing.

I mean its hard to turn down free matieral, but the time spent using 3x3's and 4x1's would be insane.

Also walls are usually 2x6 or 2x4 in some area, 2x6 is the norm around here.

Bretttf

Quote from: rocking23nf on April 04, 2011, 03:48:38 PM
2x6 joists are really tiny for floor joists, I would go 2x8 or 2x10.