Concrete footing

Started by Canvasman, May 07, 2011, 10:24:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Canvasman

Looking at photo you can see that the post has settled @ ¾ of an inch since last fall. This happened after the frost left the ground last week. The sono tube is in 5 feet of fill, supposedly they put deep enough tube in.  I'm being told that tube did not have to reach virgin ground, just 4 feet deep for frost. I always thought footings needed to be on original soil.  And if it is on virgin soil should settling occur? Lastly carpenter used 4*4 pressure treated post to hold 8 foot wide deck and trusses for the covered porch, is that strong enough, Or should it have been a 4*6 post? Also could the post itself have shrunk ¾ inch?
Thanks, Eric

umtallguy

fill could well have settled, especially if they did not compact it well

rick91351

Couple thoughts and I am not a pro at this so anyway take it as such.

One timbers, boards and lumber does not shrink in length because of the cell structure of the wood.

Not knowing your soil type nor its compaction.  But sound as if the back fill was not compacted.  I would think the weight of the 4X4, the sono tube, concrete and rebar assuming rebar was used settled into the loose fill.  If you pencil in the amount of weight there standing on end.  Even without the pressure of the deck below, all standing on a little tiny surface of the bottom of a sono tube if not abutted in to something solid it is just going down.