Anchor Pins to Ledge

Started by rmallaire, September 14, 2013, 08:47:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rmallaire

Hello all,

First off, please excuse any incorrect terminology, as I am a novice to this subject.   I am unfamiliar with fasteners that would anchor to ledge. It is fastening the base of the posts to the ledge that I need to become familiar with.  I will need all hardware. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have began researching different anchors for concrete but didn't know if there is something specific for anchoring to ledge. Ideally what I am looking to install is an anchor pin with a fastening system that will allow a base plate to be mounted on top, then a 6X6 or 8X8 post will mount on top of it.

I am building a small structure (20 X 20 cabin) on a piece of land I own in northern New Hampshire. The area is mostly ledge, strips of granite, field stone and shale.  Ideally, I would like to install pressure treated posts for the carrier beam to be placed on (8' on center- 9 total). The floor joists will cantilever over the carrier beams by 2' all around.  I would like to keep the design as simple as possible, while adhering to fundamental principals for the correct methods of construction.

Thank you,

Randy
Thank you,

Randy

flyingvan

I'm guessing by 'ledge', from your second paragraph, you're talking about exposed bedrock?   A picture would help.
   If that's what you mean, buy a hammer drill.   Drill 5/8" holes at slight angles and epoxy rebar in.  Use the rebar and 'tie in' horizontal rebar, build a form around it, then fill fith concrete---set your metal post holder right in the concrete.
   Make absolutely certain the stone is structurally stable and capable of holding the load.  If you can't hire a local geologist look around and see what other people have done, how old it is, and how well it's held..

Find what you love and let it kill you.

Redoverfarm