South Texas 24'x36' two story - First Time Builder

Started by peter_toyota, November 09, 2013, 02:31:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

peter_toyota

Hello everyone.
Intro: I have been a long time lurker. I am a Network Security professional, in my early 40's, married, and unlike my father and my brother's I have ZERO experience doing construction on my own. My father passed away several years ago, and my brothers are half a world away.
I acquired a nice piece of land, 2 Acres in Wilson county Texas almost 4 years ago, with the intention of getting away from the city and start living a more independent, self-sufficient lifestyle. I like gardening a lot, I have already enjoyed my share of home grown heirloom Italian tomatoes this year (god, I miss them now!), peppers, lettuce, strawberries and Japanese pumpkins. I am also interested in solar, and I have a few 270W panels stored away for when the house is built.

Summary: The land was acquired via a county tax sale, and it survived the 2-year max redemption period, so now is mine free and clear. It was in an unmaintained state, with lots of mature mesquite trees, no fences, and no utilities. First thing I did was started clearing most of the trees out from the area I wanted to garden and also build a house. I started with a small chainsaw, and made good progress. I needed to pull the stumps out somehow though.

Broke down and rented a backhoe. Had it delivered. First time using one, and the blasted machine broke on me. It would not move forwards or backwards. I spent a full day figuring out if it was due to something stupid I was forgetting to do on the controls. When the renter's mechanic came, he told me it was an electrical plug for the transmission that got disconnected, probably caught up in the masses of brush I was clearing.