Mini-homestead

Started by revival, July 20, 2012, 02:03:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

revival

I am just starting out and haven't got a big enough area cleared yet to start actual construction but I have a 120 sqft. cordwood home planned.  I am designing it to have a loft added and eventually an addition on the back side.  I also plan to make an old travel trailer into a massage studio since I am a massage therapist.  I am located near Charleston, SC and I am having great luck finding like minded people and individuals that can donate building supplies.  I have started a blog at revivalnatural.wordpress.com as well as a facebook page (also revivalnatural) so I can share my experience with others.  I can't wait to meet some of you.  I'm sure I've got a ton to learn!
Charleston, SC area :)

Squirl

Welcome.   w*
There are plenty of people here to help.  I look forward to hearing more about your plan.

What made you settle on cordwood?

John Raabe

None of us are as smart as all of us.

revival

http://revivalnatural.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/looking-up/ the little clearing I have so far.  I will be borrowing a chainsaw next week and it should start getting larger faster.  I have all of the underbrush pulled out by the roots and burned it in my little camp fire while spending the night a week ago.  I have most of the parts out there to put in a shallow well, which is legal to do "for irrigation or other agricultural purposes" where I am doing it.  Also, I am carefully following all codes pertaining to shallow well placement.  Once this is done I can get everything together to pour the foundation slab.  I have used floorplanner.com to design the structure but I'm not sure how to share that on here plus I have roofing issues on that program lol.