2-story Universal details

Started by tchad, January 27, 2008, 01:59:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tchad

Hello all,

I'm a short time member and first time poster. I've pretty much decided to order the 2-story Universal cottage plans for an owner-build on some cleared,but raw, land in upper East Tennessee. My question is about the amount of detailed instruction included with these plans, since I'm an enthusiastic novice. Is it as extensive as what is described for the 'Little House' plans?

Tom

brian_nj

A lot is going to depend on your skill level and the level of research you are prepared to do. There are some things that are not covered as they (on any plans) are considered common construction practices. I just received my plans for the 2 story universal about two weeks ago and they look real good and easy to follow, but then again I do have a construction background.

The biggest advantage of these plans that I have seen is this forum. It gives you a place to ask questions on the areas that you are unsure of. I have not been here long but can already tell that this is going to be a great resource for my build which will be commencing in two weeks (unless there are more closing delays)

I am happy with my plans and the information that came with them they are a lot better than some that I have had to deal with over the years.
Our web site http://www.goldate.us/
Our Blog http://www.goldate.us/blog/

If more people took personal responsibility for themselves this country would not be in the mess it is.

John Raabe

Tom:

With my plans (and any other stock or custom plan) a person with limited building experience will want the help of good house building books (see BOOKS).