flu - my research and thoughts on it

Started by muldoon, April 30, 2009, 10:11:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

muldoon

I am not a doctor, nor before about a week ago did I have any particular interest in influenza.  However, I have been reading and educating myself on this topic pretty hardcore for the past week and want to write this email with what I found, what everyone should be aware of, and a hint at what to expect.  (I say email, but I will post to a few boards I frequent as well).

Flu background,
very important to understand that the flu is common, and already causes problems around the world.  In the US, 36,000 people a year die from the flu every year.  or roughly 100 a day.  A total of 60,000 die from influenza/pheumonia every year.   Pneumonia is a bacteria infection, and the flu is viral; it is quite common for a virus to start an illness, only to have bacteria set in.  So we can reasonably conclude that more than 100 people a day die from the flu. 

virus's have a rating scale, to determine how much of a threat they can provide.  Keep these numbers in mind later.
CFR - Case Fatality rate.  the rate of which an infected person will die from it.  regular flu is 0.10%
CAR - Clinical attack rate.  the amount of people who will get inflected and are symptomatic.  regular flu, 10%
(to doublecheck these numbers, 300million americans * 10% infected * 0.1% fatality rate = 300000000 * .10 * 0.0010 = 30,000 as expected)