20x30 Planning stage/getting my ducks in a row

Started by JoshC, October 04, 2013, 07:21:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoshC

Hey everyone, I've been reading through a lot of the threads and you guys have been such a great resource for information!
I'm looking into building a house on my parent's land. I really like the 20x30 cottage plan(it's just me and my dogs!). We plan on ding as much of the building ourselves as we can. I've talked to our building dept. guy and he was very helpful and my next step is to get a septic engineered(that's what he told me anyway!). I haven't purchased any house plans yet. I have to have stamped engineered drawings for the house. I'm wondering if I should buy the 20x30 house plans from here and have the engineer guy alter if needed and then stamp them or should I just have him draw up a set from scratch? I guess I'm just trying to think of the best way too go about this, I'm not afraid to admit I'm a complete newbie to all of this!
Thanks for any info/help/insight you guys can give me!
Josh

rick91351

First off  w* from Rick and Ellen in Idaho

Second I hope your build goes well for you........

Third what I have found here at my location and having too have two engineered.  You would have to shop around locally and find an engineer.  Here I found one that works pretty reasonable, has a small office down town with no staff.  He is in his sixties has a huge client base and never knew there was a down turn in building.  Whom ever you find he would have to make the decision if he can just stamp or need to re-engineer and re-draw.  After going through two if these I would guess he will re-engineer from the top down.