Looking for a critique of my floor plan design. 20x30 w/ two upper bedrooms.

Started by ktmcrashking, December 24, 2012, 09:20:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ktmcrashking

I have always like what Rob LeMay had done with the 16x24. He maximized his living area by putting the bedrooms upstairs. But 16x24 did not offer the room I wanted and the 20x30 plans always have a bedroom on the first floor hogging up square footage. So I took it upon myself to give design a try. The purpose will be mainly for snowmobiling. This always involves a half dozen people milling around the kitchen and living area and all the gear that goes with sledding. So, with that  in mind I put in a 4' walk way through the kitchen, large storage closet inside the back door, and made the living eating areas as big as possible for comfort. What I am looking for is any obvious design flaws as I have never done this before. I have not drawn the upper yet but I can tell you it will model Robs design with two 10x12 bedrooms on either end with a walkway between on engineered joists with a 2' knee wall. Thanks for your input. K

JRR

You might want to consider moving the second/living-rm entrance door to line-up with the stair well.

Is that a storage/mud room next to the bathroom?  If so you might want to remove the connecting wall and serve the larger area with one door.  Do you really prefer a tub to shower stall on the first floor?

I would dedicate less space to kitchen counters ... maybe move the oven/range over close to the sink and remove the "penisular", letting the bar and stools swing around against the outer wall/window.

Good luck!

lobster

for the use you describe the spacious kitchen seems fine.