Construction adhesive?

Started by MushCreek, January 02, 2010, 04:52:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MushCreek

The thread about the various nails got me to thinking about a question I have about using adhesives. Is there any point to using adhesive on sheathing? Is it code legal, if I decide I want it? Is there a downside other the obvious ones of added cost and labor? I'm an old boat builder, and am in the habit of gluing everything. I saw a guy build a plywood boat with no nails at all, and it was just as strong as one with fastenings. It would seem to me that if the sheathing was glued AND nailed, it would be that much stronger and tighter. I would think it would make a floor tighter and stronger, too. Or is everybody already using adhesive and I just didn't know it?
Jay

I'm not poor- I'm financially underpowered.

MarkAndDebbie

The adhesive makes it much stronger against shear. Someone posted about the shear values with let-ins, just nailed, and glued - but I couldn't find it.

I glued the subfloor and I'm gluing the walls.

rocking23nf

I glued the floor but not walls, and I used screws for all sheathing.

Don_P

I remembered a comment somewhere advising not to but couldn't remember why. So I asked the help desk over at apawood.org about gluing and if there is a "best" fastener. This is the response;

QuoteTesting and many years of experience have shown that properly applied common nails of appropriate size and spacing are fully adequate for almost all sheathing applications. The attached documents provide sheathing fastening recommendations.

Following are excerpts related to the use of adhesives for wall and roof sheathing applications.

APA Engineered Wood Construction Guide, Form E30: To minimize the potential for panel buckling, gluing of wall sheathing to framing is not recommended, except when recommended by the adhesive manufacturer for wall sheathing that already has been permanently protected by siding.