Book Recommendations for New Builders

Started by gbleuc, January 14, 2019, 12:02:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gbleuc

Hi all, newbie here. After a long time of reading everyone's posts, I finally made an account. :) In the next year or so I'd like to start planning a land/small home project; Having grown up on a farm, I'm handy with building fences, sheds, barns, automobile/mechanic work, etc and the general understanding that things can often be hairier than they appear. However a house, even a small one, still feels a bit daunting (though I've been inspired by reading about everyone's houses here!) and am wondering if folks could share their book recommendations for learning about owner-builder construction, particularly for people who are not otherwise in construction/formal building. I'd like to learn as much as I possibly can before beginning planning.

Thank you!

akwoodchuck

Go to the library  ;D
....seriously, though...you will need a hefty stack to cover the full range of building even a tiny house, no one book comes close to covering it all!
....some of the old Black and Decker or Taunton how-to volumes are mighty fine....if I could choose only one book on the subject it would be A Pattern Language....the construction details it gives are completely useless, but the concepts of design are invaluable....
"The lyf so short, the craft so long to lerne."

NathanS

The Larry Haun videos (free on youtube) along with his book the very efficient carpenter clicked for me. You still need to learn the codes but it is a good overview.

Stuff by Taunton... 'for pros by pros' I liked most of those. Like akwoodchuck said, I did spend some time in the library. I would check out something like 5 plumbing books, skim them and then wound up buying my favorite, but still found good tidbits from the others.