Flow chart

Started by builderboy, March 18, 2007, 07:26:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

builderboy

Bigmish's questions about timing of utility installation reminded me of an memory my wife had recently. She worked for an engineering firm who had flow charts for timing of subs on each job they managed. Any general contrators out there have something like a "generic" flow chart us do it yourselfer's could use for this purpose?

builderboy

Maybe there's one in John's recommended books that I haven't read yet ! ?

peg_688

Mines in my brain, but your inspection card is sort of a mini flow chart , at least all the ones I've seen the inspections are called out pretty much "in order".  Some where on this site there has to be a flow chart , I'd think. Some one will bump it or point it out.  

desdawg

I used to make them up when I was a project manager on commercial jobs. They are unique for each job depending on conditions. But they are highly logical. I.E. You have to have site prep and excavation before you can form for concrete. The biggest thing is accurate time estimates. Each contract had a time limitation with liquidated damage penalties for exceeding that timeframe. I used a horizontal bargraph format. Some trades can overlap. On a large project with block walls you could get x amount of concrete poured and the masons could start while the remainder of the concrete was being placed for instance. At another phase the sheetmetal ductwork has to go in before the electrican and plumber start or you will have water pipe and conduit in your sheetmetal runs every time.
I would list each phase and allot a timeframe kind of like this. Like PEG said you have to go through the process in your head and make it all fit into the deadline. Then you know if you have to push certain subs harder to make the schedule work.
                       Jan          Feb      March     April
Excavation         -----------
Footings & Stems         -----------