Complexity? dif's between 1 1/2 story and Victorian

Started by C.Oden, January 25, 2013, 12:36:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

C.Oden

I have spent countless hours here, and I do mean countless!, and not sure is my lil' ol' mind can see where the big differences between building of these 2 are? Roofline maybe?

Like many I dig the look of the whole Enchilada thing but also dig Mogies and others who have done the 1 1/2s so well.
So honestly I am somewhat torn I guess but leaning maybe still to the Vic.

My background is kinda a jack of all trades and master of none. I've build some small outbuildings, put on roofing and siding, run wire and some plumbing, tiled 1000s of s/f and done some wood flooring. That said - I usually need a reference book to get these things done and Lord knmows I have millions of 'em. :-[

I likely won't touch the foundation myself (would if it was pier but you mostly have chased me off that thought). Will be securing property this spring and starting to clear and build this summer. What I want to do is decide, get the plans and sign up on the other site to get mods and such (or should one wait on this part until they actually started?)

I'm talking out loud but need to so I don't end up with 2, if not 3 sets of plans I order.
Thanks all !!! ;D

roadtripray

I feel your pain.  I had the hardest time deciding which plans to order.  I myself and starting with the builder's cottage from the Enchilada set after deliberating for a long time.  My decision was ultimately about building the smallest, cheapest thing I could to start with to make the most of my time and money available.  In fact, now that I have the BC plans, I'm spending a lot of time deciding exactly where on my lot to build it based on the existing septic and well with an eye towards adding onto it in the not-too-distant future.

Good luck!
Ray

C.Oden

Ray;

hear ya. I'm still a bit baffled. And wondering -  just how much more complex the Vic really is vs the 1 1/2 story?