I even made the nails

Started by peter nap, October 13, 2007, 03:12:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

peter nap

It's 3:55am here and being old, I don't sleep much. Got up at 1:00. I'm leaving for the farm in a few minutes and earlier I forged about a dozen nails using an old swage that I picked up somewhere years ago. I get a little more unusual this time of the morning so I'll tell the reason for the nails.

My wifes father was a Senior Appeals Court Judge (may he rest in peace) and her cousin is a personal injury lawyer (ambulance chaser). Neither one of which could drill a plumb hole with a drill press.

Anyway....Years ago the cousin decided to become a rugged black powder hunter and build his own rifle. He bought a few parts and commenced to cleaning them up at the office. Sometime later, he magically produced a beautiful .40 cal rifle. I'm a rifle builder and was impressed by the quality.

My father in law liked to put me in my place and told me that Jim even made the screws. As a builder, I know all the other better builders in the state. One day I was expressing my amazement that a lawyer could build such a beautiful gun and a friend of mine, who specializes in mountain rifles, started laughing and told me Jim had brought him a box full of handmade parts that he had bought from a builder in West Virginia, and had him build the gun for him...He also said he got the screws from Track of the Wolf and they were made in China.....

Ever since then I try to make a few screws or in this case, nails, and put them in a prominent place ( around the front door on this cabin).....and tell  everyone that sees them..." I even made the Screws"!

That usually brings swift and severe reprisals from my wife, but I think it's funny! ;D

Homegrown Tomatoes

glenn kangiser

That's a lawyer for you. :)