oops!

Started by dug, May 04, 2011, 10:55:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dug

I have known of my mistake for some time but now I have to deal with it before I move on.

When building my walls I framed the corners like this-

and painted myself in a corner, so to speak, as far as insulating them.

I was thinking about drilling small holes every foot or so and filling them with canned foam sealant. Seems like it would require quite a few cans but would probably do the job. Thought also of getting loose fill insulation and somehow filling it from a hole near the top but I have no experience with the stuff. Would I have to rent a machine? How big of hole would I need to drill?

Any better options?

suburbancowboy

I would go with your can idea.  Give the foam time to expand as you work your way up.  To much and it will come out the holes.

JRR

If you did nothing, I would suspect the heat loss/gain would be less than a door jamb of the same dimensions.

rwanders

The foam will work----just takes a little patience.  Seems to me the critical spot is the vertical seams on an outside corner since that  is where you may get some air leaks so be sure and catch them good. Those spray cans will fill a pretty good space. It may only require 1 or 2 cans per 8' corner. I would drill small holes along both faces so ensure good coverage of both sides and the seams. a very small squirt will seal a hole up after you are through with it.

ps; Might be a picture angle thing but looks like you may have kind of a small area for nailing along one face---if so, putting SR against that short side first will help with the other wall
Rwanders lived in Southcentral Alaska since 1967
Now lives in St Augustine, Florida

dug

QuoteIf you did nothing, I would suspect the heat loss/gain would be less than a door jamb of the same dimensions.