Did you install your own septic?

Started by Erin, November 13, 2006, 07:53:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Erin

just curious about the general consensus around here.  

So?  Which is it?
"You bet.  I do everything myself."
Or
"Are you nuts?!  There're some times the pros are well worth their money"

glenn-k

No reason not to if you take the time to understand what it is you are doing, and take time to do it correctly.

Some building departments won't let you do it yourself but that doesn't mean that you aren't capable.  

I am a general contractor and do them for other people sometimes,  but a straight normal system shouldn't be a problem for a DIY'er.  One of our members even did an engineered system himself.  

Bouncer

I did one. Wasn't to hard. Its like Glenn said take your time and do it right.
Kevin

MB25ACRES

I have the health Department coming to My land at 11:15 am tommarow for a site evaluation so I will get to see if he wants the house where I do. I noticed on the permit they had a space for name of installer. so far I have not put anything on that line so far. I am trying to decide the same thing. I am going to ask about Infiltrator leach fields. I would like to do mine myself but will see if they allow it. good Luck Mike

Amanda_931

I--

have never run a backhoe

don't much want to rent one and learn on that

ditto dump truck--don't know quite who to ask about getting chert (fill) for the project either.

am perfectly dreadful with transit and levels

since a good backhoe guy with a good helper will take most of a day to install a septic tank

I think I'll let them get to it.

I do know where to get a septic tank locally.  Which reminds me, I could go talk to them about water tanks.

glenn-k