Where to start...

Started by Cropping Up, December 09, 2011, 02:36:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cropping Up

I'm just beginning to plan for a small house and I'm unsure where to begin in earnest.  Land?  Check.  Water and electric?  Double-check.  But ... what now?  I'm in no rush to get the project underway and really wouldn't be surprised if it were a year or two before I actually commit to it, but I'd like to get my ducks rounded up and in something resembling a row so at least I know what to expect.  What can you guys suggest?

walkabout

If you have a zoning board that is strict and/or are asking for any/many variances, figure out what you want to build and start the approval process long before you want to start to build.

I have a small property that I wanted to put a small cabin on, and because of a dispute between the township and the county where I wanted to build it took much longer than I thought it would to get approval to tear down and rebuild on my property. It took me over a year of meetings, changes, more meetings, etc to get approval to rebuild.
My county has the past few years property and zoning meeting notes online so I was able to see what they liked and did not like, but even with this information you are sometimes subjected to the moods of the P&Z committee.

If you don't have any of these issues then great.

Good luck.

Alan Gage

I decided to build about a year ago. Spent all winter planning and started building this spring.