Rural cabin

Started by reddennis, March 30, 2007, 12:58:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

reddennis

Hi all-
I'd like to build a cabin in B.C. this summer-- I've never built anything before, but I will have some help from two experienced framers. My question is: I have it narrowed down to either the 1&1/2 story cabin from this site, or a panelized cabin from here: http://www.cabins.ca/html/Algonquin.html Considering that I'll only have about 2 months to work on this project, what do you all think? I see the benefits of the panelized cabin being that it can be dried in in only 10 days. The disadvantages are that it's expensive (about $35/sf dried in w/o foundation or shipping) and cannot be built on piers, which is the foundation I'd like to use for the 1&1/2 story. Could an unexperienced builder with help get the 1&1/2 story done in only 2 months? I'm not talking finish work-- that'll have to come later. My location will be rural central B.C., about 2 hours from the nearest lumberyard, so decent planning will be essential-- especially with the fact that everything will be done with generator power. Thanks for your input.

John Raabe

You might want to check around as your lumberyard may be able to suggest a company that will panelize a house from your own plans. The 1 - 1/2 story would be a pretty quick and inexpensive workup. The lumberyard could then do the materials package for the rest of the shell project (such as the foundation materials).

Don't get stuck thinking you have to buy a predesigned kit. The advantage here is that you can get the CountryPlans plans and then customize them for your site, interior, layout windows, views, etc. to get a more custom home than a kit could provide. You would take that layout to the fabricator or lumber yard.

See also this project where the owners did their own panels. http://www.countryplans.com/cody.html
None of us are as smart as all of us.

Zero Punch