Previous topic - Next topic

3rd beam option?

20 ft. joist span
1 (16.7%)
3rd beam?
5 (83.3%)

Total Members Voted: 6

dug

I have purchased countryplans 20 by 30 1 1/2 story cottage plans and intend to use the concrete pier foundation. My concern is that the 20 ft. floor joist span seems like a long stretch. I am considering adding a 3rd beam under the joists and building an interior, load bearing wall on top of the 3rd. beam which would also support the 2nd. story loft joists. The floor plan I have designed would put the center beam 2 ft. off center leaving a span of 8 and 12 ft for the joists. I am no engineer and have little building experience but it would seem that I could use lighter lumber for the floor and loft joists (2x12 are specified) and still have a stiffer floor.
Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.  

n74tg

I haven't seen the plans for the cottage, but is there some reason why you need an 8' and 12' span rather than two equal 10' spans.  I ask this because the house I'm building is 30' wide and has two beams giving me 10' spans exactly.  I'm using 2x10 floor joists on 24" centers and from a website that calculates floor deflections it shows my floor (L/540) to be stiffer than most codes require (L/360). 

I have the Span Tables (free, pdf files) from southernpine.com and they show that even for #2 visually graded lumber that a 2x10 floor joist on 24" spacing is good for up to a 13'-1" span (using 40 psf live load, 10 psf dead load, L/360 deflection).

A 2x8 on 24" spacing is good for up to a 11' span and a 2x6 is good for up to a 8'-6" span.