20x36 1 1/2 story cabin in western pennsylvania

Started by lynn_cjhouse, February 29, 2012, 10:33:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lynn_cjhouse

I'm new to this so excuse any mistakes :) Me and my husband are planning on build the 20x30 1 1/2 story home on our property.  We want to extend the plan to 36 feet and put a back laundry/mud room area. Then have the loft over the kitchen, bed/bath with cathedral ceilings in the living room.  We are building it on pier foundation. We aren't sure about the building codes though and if that will be allowed. Any information would be greatly appreciated. I'm not sure if my picure will post but I'm trying.....

MountainDon

w*

The best thing to do right now is to contact the local authority having jurisdiction over the issuance of building permits and ask what building code version is used and whether or not a pier and beam foundation would be permitted. That AHJ may be at the local town or city level, perhaps the county; where we live full time it is the city and where our cabin is located it is the county for the permit but the state for the building code and rules enforcement.  You may be able to search online and find the required information.

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

lynn_cjhouse

We got our plans yesterday and plan on starting building next summer..... Gotta get some money saved up. We are gonna go talk to the township soon and see what they say about the piers. Another question? I saw on some of the owner builder projects that people braced their piers..... Is that necessary? As far as I can tell it doesn't say anything in the plan

MountainDon