Flat roof covering

Started by Lonicera, February 11, 2007, 12:06:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lonicera

Because this will be my first effort, and I have little construction experience, I want to start with a flat roof.  If anyone has done one, what sort of covering has been most successful for you?

For me, it's more than the simplicity of the flat roof,  it will be a good way to gain elevation, to view any critters who've strayed from the home base.

Thank you for any suggestions.

peg_688

Flat roof's always leak , even the ones done by pro's . There are many ways to do it , torch down , walkable roof/ deck  ,  membranes , 90 LBS. roll roofing (most common for DIYer) .

I highly recomned a shed style roof with some , even a little pitch,  as little as 2 in 12 will greatly reduce the roof leak potential.

Lonicera

QuoteFlat roof's always leak , even the ones done by pro's . There are many ways to do it , torch down , walkable roof/ deck  ,  membranes , 90 LBS. roll roofing (most common for DIYer) .

I highly recomned a shed style roof with some , even a little pitch,  as little as 2 in 12 will greatly reduce the roof leak potential.

That's what I thought, but if I use what you suggest, on a shed roof,  can I still walk on it?

peg_688

It depends on what type roofing you pick.

A common old roll roofing 90 lbs will put up with some limited foot traffic , think maintance , IE clean gutters, cut of a odd overhanging limb , but not general everyday live on it like a deck would get.

Torch down , which should be applied by a pro , lots of odd tools , heavy , need to be shown how to install , etc issues . Along with burning down the house with the torch  :o issues .   Would also not be good for daily foot traffic .

The walkable deck menbranes are made for that , goggle those , again MTL will need a pro to install it properly. Again lots of little stuff involved.