Pierce County, Washington?

Started by Pritch, November 27, 2011, 02:40:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pritch

So plans change.   :-\  We are considering smaller acreage closer in rather than the bigger, more remote land I had been hoping for.  The idea is that we will actually live full time on the property in a few years when my wife retires so it will have to be close enough for me to commute to work. 

Does anybody have any experience or info regarding the building process in Pierce County, Washington?  (I know King County is notoriously difficult and expensive!)

Thanks!
"The problem with quotes from the internet is that they're not always accurate." -- Abraham Lincoln

waggin

While I don't have experience with building there, I have plenty of experience living and being stuck in traffic there.  Suburbia has really spread out while the road capacity hasn't kept up.  Even on weekends, getting from rural Pierce into Tacoma or Seattle is not pleasant.  The septic system maintenance and pumping requirements are getting pretty onerous there too, but I don't know about new installations.  In King County, they're at the point where they will only approve 5% of the land for a gravity septic system according to a septic designer I spoke with.  With as crowded as Pierce is now, I wouldn't doubt it if they're following suit.