Total noob needing ballpark numbers

Started by noobie290, March 28, 2010, 12:01:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

noobie290

First I would like to say hello to all on the forum and thank you in advance for any advice. Everyone seems to be super nice and I figured this is a great place to get some answers I am looking for.

I have 1.5 acres of land that I own outright. I have a power pole, water well with pump, and septic system already on it. I would like to build a small bachelor's home and after digging around on the internet I came across this website and their floor plans.

I really like the universal cottage plans, but I don't need all the bells and whistles that are on it. I am looking to build a 20x24 2 story cottage with no attic or basement. I would like to have both levels completely open except for the bathroom. The down stairs would be the living area with a very small kitchen setup and no walls separating anything or closets, and the upstairs would be the bedroom with no walls or closets. I would have an aluminum outdoor utility shed for washer and dryer, which is pre-existing, so no need for a space for that.

I have seen cost estimates from 85$ per sq ft to 200$ per sq ft, but I am thinking that since my plans are so much more simplistic than what I've seen others building that it might be lower. Also, I am not exactly sure what is included with that when I see x amount per sq ft. Is that a finished product or just to build the bare bones and to finish is another matter?

Well I hope I have put in enough info for someone to give me some advice, but if you have questions PLEASE ask and I will do my best to answer to get the best advice possible.

Thanks to all.

n74tg

Welcome to the forum.  I'm sure you can get several answers here for what you need.