Battery Care and Maintenance

Started by OlJarhead, November 09, 2011, 11:36:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

OlJarhead

I am not sure we have a thread specific to this title anywhere and I've been thinking about asking a few questions and just noticed others have too.....perhaps a moderator could assemble them all in here?  I think it would be great to have such a thread.

So to start off:  I am no battery expert at all and frankly, while I've worked with them in Telecom for a long time now I still don't really spend enough time learning about them to know the answers.  On the other hand I do know one thing:  ask here :)

I have 8 220AH GCB's and the Trojan Battery Company (that makes a lot of these so I think they may be theirs -- I got them at Costco) tells me to Equalize at 15.50vdc -- which seems very high to me but I don't know squat in that department so have to take the manufacturers word for it -- and while it kinda scares me to do that I'm slowly convincing myself that overcharging them for an hour (just an hour right?) is the right thing to do.  However I have some questions:

1.  Should I remove the caps while equalizing?  I can't, of course, if I am not there but when there is there any reason to do this?  Not to do this?
2.  During Equalize I realize the batteries will boil and may exhaust acid to the tops of the batteries (I think anyway) -- what do you use to clean that up?  Baking powder?
3.  Since the batteries will gas during this boiling equalize process and since I don't yet have a fan set up to help get rid of the gases, is a window in my porch cracked 1" enough ventilation?  Or should I open them wide?  Install a vent, any vent, while waiting for the fan to arrive?