Water hookup question

Started by MikeT, June 09, 2006, 10:36:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MikeT

I now have my building permit and am ready to begin.

I applied for water service and just received a bill for water meter installation.

My question is, what should I do from here with respect to temporary water?

Can I do this myself?

I was billed for a water meter, a meter tail and a meter top?

Thanks.

Amanda_931

Sounds like it's time to go in to the office (might work just as well to call) and say--

Ummm, Uhhhh, help, What am I supposed to do with this, when do I need to do it, does it come before or after the plumbing inspection? should I have my lines already ditch-witched all the way to the house?  do I need a plumber to be on hand when it is installed, etc. etc. etc.  I've never done this before!

Back when--and where--I did some framing, "normal" was having a temporary pole for electricity, but not water.  The mortar guys brought their own.

PEG688

Generally you can run water , power , cable , phone all in one ditch . The power company will have a ditch lay out MTL .

The water people , be they city , county or local water district will set the meter at the road , you or your sub / general contractor will tie in , run the water line to the house or to a stand pipe / spicket.

Combineing all utl. in one ditch saves time and $$

Most places let you turn the meter on , here in my town , the city will fine you $500.00 if you turn it on / off if they catch ya . Even plumber are suppose to call for turn on / off ::)

So like Manda said call and check every place has local rules , made to be broken :-/ :-/ Glenn , what do you think about that?  ;)

Good luck , PEG

When in doubt , build it stout with something you know about .

glenn kangiser

Rules, PEG, ----what rules?  Rules are for prisoners and school children.  

I think I forgot to ask. :-/

Looks like if you got a bill for it they expect you to use it?