20x32 Two story in upstate South Carolina

Started by mwhutch, June 24, 2013, 07:55:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mwhutch

Hi everyone,

We have been long time lurkers on this forum, and are finally starting our house! Over the past few months we have bought a couple sets of plans, asked some questions, and finally decided on a full two story over a block crawlspace. The costs added up to almost the same for a 1-1/2 story as a 2 story, and since this will be our full time house we chose the slightly larger plan.

A little background on us: We have lived on this 4.28 acres for the past 6 years(its a fixer upper), grooming it and managing it to become exactly what we want. We hope that it will really be to our advantage that our current house is only 150' from the construction site! My husband is a land surveyor by trade and I am a stay at home mom. We raise all of our own meat, eggs, milk, and most of our vegetables here on the "farm". We actually were able to use pigs and goats to do a good amount of the clearing work. We are just very excited to start building here in the next few weeks, and would love to share our progress with all of these great people on Country Plans.  :)

First Floor

Second Floor

Overview

Will laying out the site, with a curious pig supervising.

Woods before the pigs

House site at slightly different angle after running the pigs and reseeding

lavarock

Really like the layout!  - efficient.

Thoughts- Given you are looking at a crawl space, you may want to check the two story that was done in Michigan with the usable walk up attic space.  It did not add much to the project cost, but added a bunch of usable space. See the picture gallery. 

Good luck!

mwhutch

We had a last minute change of graders and were able to get started sooner than expected! These guys were awesome, and we are very glad we chose them over renting some equipment. Worth every penny! ;D Here's some photos of the progress:

Spring before Grading