Help me understand permits

Started by Brigitta, May 30, 2006, 09:43:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brigitta

I'm new at this. Can someone please explain the advantages to building without needing a permit?
Expense?
Hassle?
Time?
Taxes?
Inspections?
Our plan is for my husband to move to another state to start a new job and find land for us to live. Then I will come out and build a small house as quickly as I can. Would I need to get anyones approval, or can I just start in if it is considered temporary housing? :-?

jraabe

Rules vary widely and you should call up the planning and building department in the jurisdiction where you will be building (county government if in an unincorporated area). Ask for information about building a small structure and what permits and inspections will be needed.

If it will be a temporary building ask something straightforward like "How big a storage building can I put up without getting a building permit?"

Understand that if you will be doing a septic system, well, bringing in power and telephone, etc. then these are more people to call and coordinate (and pay!)

If you have bought my plans see, "Taking you Plans to the Building Department" for more information and strategies. (Comes in the booklet with the larger plans sets.)

glenn-k

All of the above, Brigitta, but most places require them.

Amanda_931

Most of what you said on the advantages of building without a permit--perfectly true, but not taxes in my area.  Different set of people.

So far we have inspections on septic tanks (required, even if you were to put in a constructed wetland, if you want grid electricity) and electric.

My house in Nashville had been wired by the previous owner.  He whined mightly about having to get it inspected.  He'd been, he swore, an electrician most of his life, no young whippersnapper could tell him how to wire a house.