Another Reloading Press Question for the Reloaders Among Us

Started by MountainDon, November 06, 2009, 10:30:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MountainDon

My son and I are getting close to decision time on a press/kit. I'm leaving most of the leg work on this up to him.

He gave me his short list of three... 2 basically the same except or the scale I think.

RCBS Rock Chucker Master Reloading Kit  
https://www.grafs.com/product/267168 which he can get for $258.99 with his C&R discount.

Lyman Crusher Expert Kit
1.  https://www.grafs.com/product/264753  for $251.99 with his C&R discount.

or
2.  https://www.grafs.com/product/264756  for $282.99 with his C&R discount. (electronic scale)

To that we'd add die sets: .223,  .308,  .30-06,  .45LC,  .45ACP, .45-70 and 454 Casull. To begin with.  ::)

Bullet casting for the 45's are on my short list as well.

ALSO... are any particular brand of dies better than others, or a better value? Do they interchange? See I'm a novice at this reloading.  ???

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

NM_Shooter

OK.. here comes a bunch of unsolicited advice....

Don, any of the presses you named are good.  But I don't think I would buy a Lee press over an RCBS or Lyman.  The press you will use forever.  Don't cheap out on that one.

I would also avoid the electronic scale, as sexy as they seem. 

Here's why:

1)  The balance actually has better resolution.  You can tell when the beam is off by 0.05grns or better.  The linearity of the beam is better.
2)  When a balance scale breaks, you know it.  They either completely work or they don't.  Not so with an electronic version.
3)  Subtle things can go wrong with the electronic scale (digit failure)
4)  No batteries required with the balance. 

There are some fancy options for automatically throwing a set amount of powder with an electronic balance, but I prefer the safety of measuring my own.