Post & Pier Plumbing

Started by MudBath, October 21, 2007, 08:30:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MudBath

Hello everyone.  I'm new to all of this, so please over-look my dumb questions.

I am looking at a cabin to buy.  It's a nice sturdy cabin built on a post and pier.  I'm looking for a place I can enjoy weekends and summer vacations at, with my kids and grandkids.  Someday when I retire, I want to give-up my big house in town and retire year around to the cabin.  At present, it's new construction.  Basicly a blank slate.  What I'm having a hard time understand is this post and pier foundation.  Not as in it's construction or how it will hold up.  Nothing like that.  The part I can't grasp is... the cabin is in a four season location.  How does one keep the pipes from freezing?  It's open under the cabin!  I'm from Ohio, and I know what isn't protected will freeze up and not work.  Not to mention damage.  I was thinking about building a block foundation around it.  But, you'd have to pour a footer and I can't see any way that will be easy to do.  Has anyone else ran into this problem?

Thank you,
Casper

hunter63

My log cabin is built this way.
I drain my pipes if going to be away, in the winter, designed it so it all drains down to the lowest point.
Water shut off at floor, inside, is heat tapped to 60 gal pressure bury tank, (8 ft deep) open drain and all taps.
R.V. anti-freeze in traps, toilet, water heater drained also.

In real cold weather when I'm there, have heat tape on trap for shower, so it won't freeze overnite, it's the only trap out side the building.
Cabin sits up on 2 solid concrete blocks, on sonit tubes.
This summer I blocked it between the support blocks, dry stacked block, on patio blocks, to block the wind.
Also added insulation under floor and visqueen ground cloth for moisture.

So, I guess we'll see how well it works, gotta believe the floor should be warmer.

Homegrown Tomatoes