Wood I-Beam construction

Started by clake4341, July 26, 2008, 09:46:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clake4341

I am new to building with wood I-beam construction, but I was wondering is there anything wrong with using standard 2 x 12 perimeter walls with wood I-Beams joists. I am planning a 20ft x 24 ft small building and want to use I-beams joists for the floor system but I am used to having 2 x ??? perimeter walls.   

PEG688

Do you mean solid wood RIM joist? If so the problem is all "I" joist are made "off sized" like a 9 1/8" , 11 7/8" etc . So you could buy the next bigger size 2x materials and rip it down to match your selected "I" joist. Well unless you need the 11 7/8" sized joist for your span.

One BIG thing to consider with "I" joist is they bounce IF you max span them , if you add a beam and cut the manf. span down by at least 1/4 what they say you can span you'll have a stiffer floor.   
When in doubt , build it stout with something you know about .

clake4341

thank you PEG688

I plan to have these I-Beams on girders. At present I have 3 rows of concrete piers spaced 10ft each row has 6 piers spaced 5 ft apart for a total of 18 piers and you are right they are made  11 7/8 " but a 2 x 12 is probable less than the 11 7/8 I plan to use wood blocking to take out some of the bounce. The girders I am planning on using are 6 x 6 x 24 Fir beams. If you think I will run into problems with my plan I would change it's just that until I get into this project and start working with I-beams I am feeling a little uncomfortable working with something I'm not use to working with. 

PEG688

Quote from: clake4341 on July 26, 2008, 11:09:24 PM

#1: thank you PEG688

#2: I plan to have these I-Beams on girders.

#3: At present I have 3 rows of concrete piers spaced 10ft each row has 6 piers spaced 5 ft apart for a total of 18 piers

#4: and you are right they are made  11 7/8 " but a 2 x 12 is probable less than the