Wood pier question

Started by Cole, November 20, 2012, 01:07:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cole

Hello,
I am new to this great site. I am going to build a cabin, 16x24, or a 14x28 this spring. Always been a dream to build my own cabin.  As, of now I am working finishing clearing the land. I still am going back and forth over my foundation options. Either foundation grade lumber piers, or concrete block, or even sonotube. Really trying to avoid bringing in a lot of concrete, I have a bad back, and I wont have to much help. Figure wood piers would be the simplest foundation, however, wondering how long they will last. I have read that the inner 2" of a foundation grade 6x6 will not accept the chemicals, and could rot easily from the inside out. I was going to apply roofing tar to the top foot of the pier, if I add a layer of tar to the bottom of the post, up a foot, would that help slow down organic attack? Since this is my first build, I feel wood post are the simplest foundation option, really want to go that route, just concerned with the longevity of the 6x6 lumber posts. I will place the post on a concrete rebar inforced footer, and backfill with dirt. Any, help would be great. Thanks in advance.

Cole

MountainDon

Just a quick note before I head out the door.

Truw foundation grade piers will not have any heart wood. It is the heart wood that will not absorb the PT chemicals. You can readily see that when you look at the ends of the 4x4 and 6x6 PT that you see on the rack in the lumber stores. Sometimes you need to shave a little off the end to make it really apparent.

There are other deficiencies in the pier foundations that many build. There are lots of variabilty with the suitability of the soil and many use poor or no bracing. You can use the forum search function to find other topics related to piers / posts.   drbuilder  has a recent topic that does illustrate one of the better looking jobs on bracing.

....till later.....