Sheetrock - Drywall DIY Tips and Costs

Started by pioneergal, February 07, 2008, 02:44:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pioneergal

As most of you know DH and I have been building on our house for about 2 1/2 years. Yeah I know....we're SLOW but so is the money :-[
Our money tree did not do well this year along with a few physical health setbacks .

We now are ready to do the Drywall - Sheetrock and  facing a decision as which route to take. We keep asking each other do we do it ourselves or sub it out?
We have a lot more time than money but neither of us are verry good at the finishing of sheetrock.

So far, we've not found anyone that wants to come in after we hang it then they finish. They insist on doing all of the job or none. 
The estimate we did get covered ALL materials, hanging the rock, tapeing and etc.....turn key job. It would be ready for us to paint.

The house has 9 foot walls throughout except the Living Room that has a trey ceiling bumpted up to 10 foot. The ceiling area to be covered is 1728 sq. ft. and wall space to cover is 4200 sq. ft. for a total of 5928.

The estimate the guy gave us was $4147.20 based on the formula of $2.40  x  1728. Is this a fair price or too high? ( Don't understand the formula  ??? )

glenn kangiser

Looks like he flat rated you for floor area - same as ceiling area, and at a price he knows he will come out OK at.

I have seen prices around here of $1.00 per square foot of sheetrock but we are in a high labor area.  Based on that it sounds OK -  I don't know how other prices in your area compare.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Sassy