Cabin foundation DG soil to hard rock conditions

Started by Turnbull, June 02, 2019, 11:56:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Turnbull

I was a builder for several years in Southern California and familiar with slab on grade and raised floor foundations - formed and poured quite a few back in the day. I  am in the planning stages for my personal cabin up in the Sierras. My preference is to maintain the natural condition/grade of my building site.  Aprox 24x30 foot print for the cabin with about a 12" of grade change over 30'. My experience with local Building codes in my region require continuous perimeter footings and that is my intent.
So my concern is how to form this up due to soil conditions. Having put in well over 300 fence posts on my property, I know I can expect in many cases  to hit tough Decomposed (ish) granite at 6" to 12" from the soil surface. This will make driving wood or even metal stakes impossible. My neighbor who built on a slope with a walk out basement had to use dynamite to excavate back into his slope but mine is a flat site build.

Here my thoughts on a solution :

1. Figure out a way to secure batter boards to create string layout of foundation. (open for suggestions on this)
2. Excavate for raised floor foundation with perimeter stem wall. (I am assuming a backhoe will be able to power thru the hard DG sections and hopefully no full on granite at 24" deep).
3. Set rod with extended verticals for block stem wall and pour concrete footings to grade.
4. Build perimeter block stem wall utilizing batter board string layout and eliminating need for stake and board forms.
5. Interior pier supports could be possibly be poured complete with sono tube forms sunk in to excavated hole and  further supported by sand bags or?

Any insight or similar experience and solutions would be appreciated.

busted knuckles