Cabin on rooftop of volunteer compound in Leogane, Haiti

Started by dmhhti, October 20, 2011, 10:58:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dmhhti

Hello I am a skilled carpenter who decided to come down and volunteer with a group called All Hands Volunteers in Leogane, Haiti to rebuild schools for children. I have been down here a little bit and realized they have no place to relax and chill so I decided to build a cabin on the roof of the compound where we are housed. So over the next few weeks I will post pics and keep everybody update on the progress of this cabin. All I cant use and 2x4 bigger then 22 inches long so it becomes even more of a challenge.

glenn kangiser

Wow... that sounds interesting.  I will be looking forward to seeing some pix on that.....  Local vernacular building too if you can find some of that.  w* to the forum.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Don_P

Thanks for lending a hand to those in dire straits  [cool]
I imagine you have some engineers there, is the roof up to the building and human load?

dmhhti

It was supposed to be a 2 story disco club that survived the earthquake and they never got to build the second story. there is about a concrete i am putting the cabin on. I am going to try to build it but scraps are getting tighter since I am building schools for children and cant use anything big enough for blocking which is 22.5 or even 18 which is the size of legs of the tables for the schools. I will try to upload pics when I get a chance but the organization I am working with is always looking for construction donations to help build the schools so if anybody out of the generous of there heart would like to donate anything just send me a message and I will get you in contact with the people you need to talk to about it.

glenn kangiser