Easiest size cabin to build if your a beginner & you want a loft?

Started by ajbremer, February 09, 2011, 06:52:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ajbremer

I purchased the 'Little House Plans' here and also became a member on planhelp. I also went to Lowe's and bought the two main books suggested here on this site: "Framing" & "Visual Handbook of Building and Remodeling". I'm studying hard, reading the books, and asking everyone I know a lot of questions.

I am a beginner builder and I don't want to modify things too much except wanting a standing room loft (10' wall studs) with a 45 degree pitch roof. My main question is:

Is there one size I could use that would be easier to build than another? Is a 16x24 easier than a 16x28? If width and length are divisible by 8, does that make things easier? And what about that 45 degree roof, someone told me that the 45 roof makes angles easy to cut. What is countryplans easiest plans that have a nice loft but yet is still not to large?

What are your thoughts?
Click here to see our 20x30 and here to see our 14x24.

MountainDon

adding a few feet of length does not make it harder, it just takes a little more time. I'd size the length as to what you want for interior space.

The width? I feel sixteen feet is a good width, but some want smaller. Personal choice there. Level of difficulty is the same. Narrower means less headspace in the loft though.

I think it is a fine idea to stick with ready made plans when one is in the beginner class. Or at least keep the mods small or relatively unimportant.

One thing that is easy to change is size of wall framing. If you are doing a loft I'd make the walls 2x6. Also that's better for insulation.

Another mod that is worth thinking about is rafter depth. Larger ones means better insulation, important in hotter or colder locations. That's an easy enough change as well.