Outdoor wood burning boilers???

Started by 2zwudz, April 13, 2008, 09:36:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2zwudz

Does anyone have any experience with outdoor wood boilers for heating?
I did a search and didn't come up with much.  We have so many "explorers" on this site I would think that someone on here has some knowledge of this type of heating.

Thanks
Mark

MountainDon

There a couple folks here who have IIRC.... we'll see.
Maybe John (redoverfrm)  ???  or ScottA   ???  or....  d*
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

glenn kangiser

Not the greatest in my opinion.

They were made to get around pollution, air quality and safety laws or issues and insurance considerations mostly. 

I have no personal experience with them.  Just what I've read and my reasons for not going to one.  I don't want to get dressed, run out in the snow, rain, wind or other inclement weather to stoke up the fire.  Not practical for me and I like the fire indoors so I can just back up to it and toast my buns if I desire. 

An inside fire responds quickly to changes with proper fire management and dry fuel.  We can warm the cabin in about 15 minutes if we want.  We can put in a big log for over night or a little fuel for a quick slight warm up and no more.  We can barbecue steaks in it too.

I don't want to deal with water lines, pumps, heat exchangers etc.  Too complicated.

Maybe others have reasons they like one but I wouldn't consider it myself.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Redoverfarm

Mark I had made a post on this subject but I do not recall what the subject matter was about so it might take me some time to find it.  I did however find these post on Outdoor Furnaces that you could look over.