Wall Height

Started by David.DiPietro, January 29, 2009, 08:24:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David.DiPietro

Hi.  My wife and I are building the 1 1/2 story 20x40 (was the 30 ft plans but we are extending to 40) cabin in Slatyfork, WV near Snowshoe ski resort.  I have been poking around and reading posts for a few months now and have found a lot of good information here.  We have cleared the area where the cabin will go and put in a driveway as well as the septic system.  We are waiting on the well driller to dig the well next.  The area has had a lot of snow this year so we are waiting for it to get warmer and dry out to proceed.  We are building on concrete piers.

I have a question regarding the wall height.  Does anyone know if there is any problem with going to 12 ft wall height (instead of the 10 ft that are in the plans) using 2x6s?  Would any additional changes need to be made?  The first floor will be 8 ft and the additional height will be in the loft.  Thanks for any help anyone might have.  We are looking to start framing in April.

Dave

tesa

w*

i'm fairly new here as well, and in fact, you've asked the exact question i want to know too

we'll wait for wisdom to rain down on us together

tesa
"building a house requires thousands of decisions based on a million bits of information"-charlie wing

John_M

My cabin is 18 x 32 but very similar to what you want to do.  I built with 12 foot walls (2x6).  I like the extra room upstairs.  You can check back in the archives of my blog to see the whole construction process.

www.ourlittlecabin.blogspot.com

You will find John and the others very helpful here!!  Good luck with your project!!
...life is short...enjoy the ride!!

rwanders

I built a 24x34 with 12' walls---1 1/2 story with the extra height in the loft---2x6 walls without any unusual problems. You can see it in projects forum under "1 1/2 story nearing completion in Alaska".  The extra height really increased the usable floor space in the loft.