Introducing Bruce

Started by Bruce, November 29, 2006, 02:24:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bruce

Howdy, I've been lurking for several weeks reading the messages and learning. I feel I already know many of you. I read your stories about how you've never built before and I see your impressive construction projects evolve into a comfortable home.

I'm in the north Dallas area and approaching retirement. Started exploring retirement home options and found this forum and the great communication yall have established here. I haven't located any land for building yet, just getting a feel for what options are available.

I like the 14x24 Builder's Cabin (stretched out to 14x28 with a small bumpout to make later additions easier) and later adding two more iterations of the basic 14x24 - one for the great room and one for the master bedroom. They would be configured in a "U" shape to make an open court yard in the middle. I've never built a house before and part of me keeps saying I'm in WAY over my head - but the helpfulness I have seen on this forum gives me confidence to press on knowing that competent help is ready and able. I think I have a basic understanding of how a house goes together, but I get lost in the details and I still haven't identified the requirements of the local building codes. Like many of yall, I'm looking to get the most house for my hard earned dollars and I'm looking for the best compromise between cost and low maintenance durability. Good looks has to fit in there somewhere, but it's not at the top of the list - structual functionality trumps glitter.