My Downsizing Project

Started by wildbil, November 18, 2008, 01:30:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wildbil

Hello everyone,

I am about to begin a major overhaul of my family's ways of living. I am almost certain that I'll be purchasing the house plans for the 14x 24 cabin. I would like to introduce myself, my plans, and my reasoning to you all; so that you can constructively criticize my ideas and maybe help me realize anything I have overlooked. Thank you all in advance.

About me: I am a 23 year old guy from Northern Michigan. I have a great wife, a beautiful 8 month old daughter, and a tiny dog. We eventually plan on having one more kid and then get fixed :-[ . I have some limited experience building, but have several friends from all building trades to help me. My wife is a nurse and I'm an orderly so we on a bit of a tight budget to start. we currently live in a 1000sqft ranch in the city. We find it more room than we need and living with neighbors so close on each side kind of drives me insane. My wife is all for the plan and only requests that it is "cozy" and not like my Dad's current deer camp(rustic).