moving a cabin...

Started by Steve_D, July 10, 2006, 02:54:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve_D

Greetings all... I have been checking in on your site for a couple of months now. I recently sold a cottage property I bought five years ago with the intent of buying something larger, more private, and, well, more typically Canadian Shield in character. Through blind luck, I was literally taking a short-cut via a logging road when I came across the small, weathered for sale sign, I found such a property and at a great price.

It is just under 3 acre, south-facing lot along the Madawaska River (Ontario). That stretch of the river has great fishing, canoeing and whitewater (plus, there is this perfect spot for a hot tub, but I am getting ahead of myself). Add to that, the back 2/3rds of the property is a sand ridge covered in red and white pine. In short, it was love at first sight!

The property already has two small cabins, a 10X12 that is winterized and a 10x14 that is framed and roofed, but not winterized. Each has a loft.  My first step will be to finish winterizing the larger cabin this summer/fall. One of the additional options I have been considering is moving one of the 10X14 cabin, which currently lies at the back of the lot, closer to the front of the property where it could sit atop the ridge overlooking the river. This would also bring it closer to the likely future building site for the main cottage, for which I am seriously considering the universal model.  The distance I would be moving it would be approximately 300-400 feet along the sand and gravel laneway. Here are my questions:

1. Anyone have any experience with moving structures? What are the key do's and don'ts? Is it worth the risk? Re-locating the cabin would add significant value to the property, but if there is a good chance it's going to tumble into pieces, I will leave it where it is.