running electrical wiring

Started by jb daniels, November 27, 2004, 01:37:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jb daniels

I am going to be ready to get some wiring installed, outlets, lighting fixtures, etc...I am new at this and was wondering if someone has any pointers on this or a good informative website with a question/answer forum...the panel will be installed by a professional, but how do I run individual wires from, lets say, plug outlets etc...do I run all of them individually to the box area from the different locations?...thanks...

jraabe

Make sure you have the electrician check the wire to use, that the boxes meet local code and then check and connect up the cables to the panel.

Too many of my owner-builder clients have done their own wiring only to have to tear it out because of a subtle code change.

The George Nash book (2nd on list) has a good overview and process flow on electrical work.

http://www.countryplans.com/books.html

Bouncer

I have found the wiring book at Home Depot useful.
It Give you the basics of diferent kinds of wiring.
Kevin

cancertomnpdx

Several years ago I took out Black and Decker books on both electrical and plumbing from the library that were very good.  Or at least, excellent for the basics for someone like me with no experience.

Ray N

One thing I always find a pain when I run wiring is bending 12 gauge wire (for 20 amp lines).  The bending I'm refereing to is screwing them to the sockets and pushing them back into the boxes.  For a cabin I would just do 15 amps to all but one recepticle as thus use 14 gauge wire which isn't such a pain to work with.

If you going to have a meduim duty appliance (space heater, hair dryer or similar)  you so have a 20 amp and 12 gauge.  It would pay to get a GFI circuit on this one.