Has anyone gone nuts with John's book list

Started by Chuckca, May 29, 2006, 05:42:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chuckca

I now own all but two of the books on John's book list...that makes 11 in my library....plan on ordering the last two....NOW....I find reading and re-reading helps me to pre-visualize the plan...Pattern language was my fav....Sat while I was having coffee in Berkley CA....2 Archs joined me...we talked for 5 hours...my wife was at home..!  Anyone else have stories about owning any or all of John's book list?  Sure are a good investment!

Here is John's book review list:  http://www.countryplans.com/books.html

MtnmanMikeM

I am new to this good forum so I don't even know what or where John's book list is.   I am sure it is good.  

In 1985 I bought for $125 the Survival Library which has 100 books and I have added quite a few since.    This survival Library was this low price for it is on microfiche which is like microfilm only on 3x5 inch cards.   I had to buy a microfiche reader which was over $200 though.    I only saw a reader like this a couple times a year ago on eBay.    It is called the Cube.

I could try to list all the books but quickly they are many govt military field manuals, wilderness and other medicine books, 12 Kurt Saxon books and my favorite the Nuclear War Survival Skills book which is free at>  http://www.oism.org/nwss  I used the small pole shelter plans from this book when I built my underground shelter.   I have pics at my site> http://free.hostdepartment.com/M/MMMtnman

I have not bought a book for a couple years now since I read and learn so much on the Internet.    Have to be careful about info from the Internet though.    But some good stuff such as this group and frugalsquirrels.com among quite a few others also...
My site with pics of my remote Wyoming mtn retreat and underground shelter                                                    &nbs

Amanda_931