Cottage Addition - Foundation Questions

Started by jregier, March 28, 2020, 07:58:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jregier

Hey all,

Newbie here, I have spent countless hours over the past few weeks reading on the forum, everything from new construction to lakewater supply. I have learned a great deal and very much appreciate this resource!

I just purchased a hunt cabin in the Whitestone (Ontario) area. The current building is 16x24 and does not look to have much of a foundation. IT is supported around the perimeter with blocks/chunks of wood directly on the ground.

I would like to build a single story addition attached to the gable end... extend the 16' width another 24'. The finished cabin would be 16'x48'. The cabin is a 5 km ATV ride through the bush... with some mud holes... so access and ease of bringing materials isn't great. I am really struggling to figure out what my best bet is for the foundation... keeping in mind the access. I am thinking of doing 20"x20" x 8" thick footings 4' down, use angle brackets to fasten 6x6 PT posts that extend 18" or so above grade. Backfill with dirt or sand if I can find it on the property. I would love to do full concrete piers but I think that will be too much concrete to haul back there... need to run the numbers on how many bags. The piers would be 8' OC.. 4 piers long by 3 piers wide. I would notch the posts and set (3) laminated 2x10's along the long sides and center for beams, 2x10 joists with hangers 16" OC. I will work on a sketch to clarify the above.

So.. my questions are:

1) Given the existing foundation looks to be NOT down below frost depth, If I put the addition foundation below frost depth and attach to the existing cabin, is there cause for concern with differential movement? If so what would you recommend?
2) Do you think the footing with PT post is an adequate foundation? If not, what would you suggest?