Long time lurker, former poster

Started by Onkeludo2, November 09, 2014, 10:50:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Onkeludo2

So I used to post occasionally while working in Iraq but it has been a while.  Recently divorced so my last barrier to building the simple home of my dreams has been (amicably but sadly) removed.

I have a unique opportunity and am investigating pursuing it.  I live in northwest Indiana and work at a major refinery here.  Though as a contractor I am pretty "agile" for relocation I have a few odd roots set here and a "cushy" job where it is near impossible to get fired (not due to union rules).

The unique situation is a failed subdivision.  It was set up for 6 cross streets, 8 houses per block with 75' x 130' lots.  Only the first street was built up and the rest have ended up at (importantly) county competitive sale.  All lots have sewer, water, electric drops (200 amp) and gas.  They are selling it per "street" for give or take $35K.  Before you get excited...this is in Gary, Indiana...technically.  The post box is Gary and the fire, electric, sewer, etc are a slightly more reputable city of Merriville, IN.

So my question is two part: