Roof Framing

Started by Laura, December 13, 2004, 12:19:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Laura

Hi,

I just wanted some opinions. I am thinking of hiring a carpenter to lay the roof rafters on my house and be his aprentice. It is a 26 by 42 house with a hip roof. Is it feasible for both of us to do the roof. Note well, I have no building experience. Any help and tips would be apppreciated. I am working on a limited budget and the quotes I have gotten are way to high to consider hiring it out.

I have already read George Nash's book and have the theory basically covered.

Laura

John Raabe

My carpenter and I did our roof together (the framing that is, we subbed out the shingle work). There may be some parts of it where you will need a third pair of hands.

Additionally, it might be worth the investment to get the John Carroll book, "Working Alone" http://www.countryplans.com/books.html. He has lots of tips about how to do things with minimal help.
None of us are as smart as all of us.

Laura

Thanks for the tip. I also have that book Working Alone.

Laura

Jimmy C.

After reading this post, I drove to the library and found that book "Working Alone". I am glad I did. It will save me many heartaches!
The hardest part is getting past the mental blocks about what you are capable of doing.
Cason 2-Story Project MY PROGRESS PHOTOS

Tom Mac

Laura,

Try "Roof Framing" by Marshall Gross(ISBN: 091046040X). Gives a quick intro to the basic trig we've all long forgotten so you can make up a cut-list. @ that point, yourself and some cheap labor hauls 'em up so they can be installed.  
(assumes a working knowledge of framing carpentry) The trick is mapping it all out on graph paper before you even order your lumber.  

Please make sure *someone* is on-site whenever your above 8' for an extended period.

Best of luck,
Tom  

Tom