Purchasing land.

Started by Curtis, December 28, 2008, 11:28:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Curtis

I've been looking at these two pieces of land here locally to build a small underground home. There are two 4.5 acre parcels in the country for sale, both listed at $18,500 each.

One parcel has a unlivable trailler on it, and the other parcel has two. Thats why the land is as cheap as it is. Water, electric are for sure on both parcels, and the listing leaves septic questionable. But I would imagine it is there,

http://www.scottlynchrealty.com/bin/web/real_estate/AR151403/ACTIVATE_FRAMES/LOTS_AND_LAND/Madison/1226438257.html
http://www.scottlynchrealty.com/bin/web/real_estate/AR151403/ACTIVATE_FRAMES/LOTS_AND_LAND/Madison/1226438257.html

I plan on checking out the land soon, I could fix one of the trailers up and live there as I work on the underground home.

I'm twenty, so i'm new to all of this. What would be a good percentage to put down on land? Nine acres for $37,000 seems like a good deal compared to other land I have seen. It already has utilities and driveways, and no neighbors within visual distance. Its not the southern facing hillside that i'm looking for, but I can make do.

Any words of advice? I want to schedule an appointment to check out the land in person, any things I should look for when checking out the land? I plan on salvaging parts from the trailers that I could use, like windows and whatnot, and good piping or anything that works really. When my home is complete, I will have the trailers removed.

What are the odds of a twenty year old getting a bank loan for this?
-Curtis

diyfrank

You could see if the owner will carry the contract.
If so, just guesting here, He would probably want  15 or 20% down.

Probably not. It's listed through a Realtor.

The bank I would say won't want any of it.  with junk trailers and maybe no septic.
On a land Mobile package deal maybe, but these are tough times and you're in your 20s.