floor framing and sheeting question....

Started by Kris, May 04, 2010, 06:58:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kris

well..first off i am fairly new to building and this question will back that up........

i am just about to start a small 12 x 14 cabin structure...a very simple shape{after building my icosa dome}..
what i noticed when i did some drafts on paper, is that when my  12ft joist's are attached to the 2 14 footers, then the actual floor space is increased by the width of the 2x6x14's  which would equal 3 extra inches...so really the floor is 14 x 12.3 ...so what i am wondering is when its time to sheet it with plywood i will come up short on a side??..or do i center it and use this lip to help hold the osb wall sheets??....

i have not seen anyone else in the forum trimming down there 12ft joists to correct this??..or have they...?

any input is welcome.....thanks people...

kris..

MountainDon

When I built our 8x8 shed I cut the joists short so that with the rim joists added the width was precisely 8 feet.

For the cabin we bought 16 foot 2x10 for our joists, then cut them shorter.
http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=2335.msg61565#msg61565

I'm not really sure if anyone else took that into account or not. I don't recall anyone saying they did.  ???
I do think it's a good idea, though.   :D
Also if you use T&G panels there's that to allow for as well.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

dug

QuoteAlso if you use T&G panels there's that to allow for as well

Definitely heed that warning, I was careful to make mine come out to exactly 20 ft., only to discover that the T&G 4 by 8's only add up nto about 47 1/2 wide when locked together! Had to piece in a 2 1/2 in. strip.  d*

davidj

I'd definitely go with the true 12' on the side otherwise you're gonna have problems with the wall sheathing too.