Beam Sizing Help.

Started by DaveOrr, October 16, 2013, 10:56:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DaveOrr

Trying to figure out sizing for a cross beam to support my loft in the cabin I'm designing.
Cabin is going to be a 24X36 with 2nd floor loft.
Span is 24' and the section of loft it needs to support is 8'.
There is a structural wall that will support the section from there to the back wall of the cabin (about 10').

I'm not an engineer (well structural  ;) ) and the charts and specs are Greek to me.  ???
Dave's Arctic Cabin: www.anglersparadise.ca

Don_P

A sketch would be a good idea, I can read the description a couple of ways.
First way, there is a 24' long load bearing wall 10' off the back wall and the beam is 8' in front of that. In that scenario the beam is supporting a tributary area of 4' x 24'.
Second way, there is a 24' long load bearing wall 10' off the back wall and the beam is 16' in front of that. In that scenario the beam is supporting an area of 8'x24'.

By those assumptions the joists are running the length of the cabin and are not providing any tie action for the roof... I'm assuming a structural ridgebeam is above?

Squirl

I once did a quick post on how to read girder/header span charts.
http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=10511.0

It sounds like you are trying to do a beam in the center to hold 1 floor above.  It sounds like you want TABLE R502.5(2) GIRDER SPANSa AND HEADER SPANSa FOR INTERIOR BEARING WALLS

http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/st/ny/st/b400v10/st_ny_st_b400v10_5_par018.htm

If you need further explanation on any items, just ask.

flyingvan

Dunno if this is useful or not....For my first O/B project I had a 24' height limit to deal with, and the size beam needed to support the upstairs (like I think you're doing) was so thick something had to give---I needed to meet the minimum ceiling height requirements, without going over for the whole building.