Grey-water recycling....

Started by jeramiez, January 31, 2011, 03:07:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeramiez

ok, is it 'grey' or 'gray' LOL

Anyway, I've been thinking about the idea of grey-water recycling, i.e. using filtered water from showers, sinks, and laundry to water gardens, flush toilets, etc...

I was wondering if anyone has used this concept and how....

While perusing the web, I find that some say you can use it to flush toilets and get a double 'bang for your buck' out of the water before it ends up in your septic, but others say it "pollutes" toilet water and allows for buildup....  (if you have hard water or well water, I fail to see how a bit of soap and such could make the toilets harder to clean or less potable ((I don't frequently drink from the john))... but I'm not a water expert!)

Any experience or thoughts would be appreciated....

Jeramie

peternap

You have to be careful with Gray water. If contained for any period it becomes just as septic as the black water. I send mine to a gray water island where it waters several trees, bushes and flowers. I do not use it for watering food crops.
These here is God's finest scupturings! And there ain't no laws for the brave ones! And there ain't no asylums for the crazy ones! And there ain't no churches, except for this right here!

considerations

"ok, is it 'grey' or 'gray'"

Its both - depending on whether you use American English (gray the color) or English English (grey the colour).  

"Anyway, I've been thinking about the idea of grey-water recycling, i.e. using filtered water from showers, sinks, and laundry to water gardens, flush toilets, etc"